TOP WVTC FINISHES IN NATIONAL XC AND MARATHON & BOSTON MARATHON

OPEN MEN

```
1968 – Boston Marathon (2 – Bill Clark; pre-WVTC)
1969 - AAU Marathon (2 - Jack Leydig)
1970 – AAU 10K X-Country (9 – Team)
1971 – AAU 10K X-Country (2 – Team; 7 – Don Kardong)
1971 – Boston Marathon (1 – Alvaro Mejia)
1971 – AAU Marathon (3 – Team)
1972 – Boston Marathon (1 – Team/7:10:49; 2 – Victor Mora)
1972 – AAU 10K X-Country (4 –Team; 6 – Peter Duffy)
1973 – AAU Marathon (2 – Team)
1973 – AAU 10K X-Country (6 – Team)
1974 – AAU 10K X-Country (9 – Team)
1975 – Boston Marathon (2 – Team/7:07:56)
1975 – AAU Marathon (1 – Team Winner)
1976 – AAU One-Hour Postal Meet (2 – Team)
1976 – AAU 10K X-Country (12 – Team)
1977 – Boston Marathon (3 – Team/7:22:15; 8 – Chris Berka)
1977 – AAU 10K X-Country (10 – Team)
1979 – AAU Marathon (2 – Team; 5 – Bill Seaver)
1979 – Boston Marathon (4 – Team/7:02:40)
1979 - Nike/US 20K Club Championship (3 - Team; 2 - Bernie
          Rose, 8 – Duncan Macdonald)
1979 - AAU 10K X-Country (10 - Team; 6 - Duncan Macdonald)
1980 – IAAF 12K X-Country Trials (8 – Duncan Macdonald)
1980 – AAU 10K X-Country (4 – Team; 10 – Duncan Macdonald)
1981 – Boston Marathon (3 – Team/6:48:25; 7 – Dennis Rinde)
1984 – Boston Marathon (3 – Domingo Tibaduiza (non-member))
2002 – USATF 12K Winter X-Country (6 – Team)
2014 – Boston Marathon (6 – Team/7:32:25, by just 1 second!)
2015 - Boston Marathon (4 - Team/7:33:00)
```

JUNIOR MEN

```
1974 – AAU 8K X-Country (2 – Team; 3 – Roy Kissin)
1976 – AAU 8K X-Country (1 – Team Winner)
1977 – AAU 8K X-Country (1 – Team Winner)
1978 – AAU 8K X-Country (2 – Rod Berry)
1979 – AAU 8K X-Country (2 – Team)
1980 – AAU 8K X-Country (3 – Team; 1 – Tom Downs)
```

MASTERS MEN

```
1975 – AAU Marathon (1 – Ray Menzie)
1976 – AAU 10K X-Country (4 – Team; 4 – Dave Stern)
1976 - AAU Marathon (4 - Team)
1979 – AAU Marathon (1 – Team Winner; 1 – Ulrich Kaempf/45-49)
1979 – AAU 10K X-Country (2 – Team)
1980 – AAU 10K X-Country (2 – Team)
2013 - USATF 10K X-Country (6 - Team)
2015 - USATF 10K Club X-Country (2 - Team; 3 - Neville Davey)
2016 - USATF 10K Club X-Country (3 - Team; 4 - Neville Davey,
                8 – Todd Rose)
2017 - USATF 10K Club X-Country (1 - Team Winner;
                1 – Neville Davey, 3 – Jorge Maravilla)
2018 - USATF 10K Club X-Country (3 - Team; 1 - Jorge Maravilla,
                 4 –Neville Davey)
2019 – USATF 5K X-Country (1 – Team Winner; 4 – Neville Davey,
             5 – Ivan Lieben, 8 – Mark Yuen)
             40-44: Davey/2<sup>nd</sup>, John Montgomery/7<sup>th</sup>;
45-49: Yuen/2<sup>nd</sup>; 50-54: Lieben/1<sup>st</sup>, Charles Mullane/3<sup>rd</sup>)
2019 – USATF 10K Club X-Country (1 – Team Winner;
             2 – Peter Gilmore, 4 – Jorge Maravilla, 7 – Brad Poore)
```

WOMEN

```
1972 – Boston Marathon (2 – Elaine Pedersen, pre-WVTC)
1974 – AAU Marathon (1 – Team Winner with UCMC ladies!)
1974 – AAU Marathon (3 – Peggy Lyman (Bryant))
1975 – AAU X-Country (10 – Team)
1975 – AAU Marathon (4 – Joan Ullyot)
1976 – AAU Marathon (3 – Team; 4 – Joan Ullyot))
1977 – AAU Marathon (1 – Team Winner; 4 – Judy Leydig)
1977 – AAU X-Country (6 – Team; 5 – Judy Graham)
1978 – Boston Marathon (2 – Penny DeMoss; NorCal Record)
1978 – AAU Marathon (3 – Team)
1979 – AAU 10K (4 – Marilyn Taylor)
1979 – Nike/US 20K Club Championship (5 – Team; 3 – Judy Fox)
```

MASTERS WOMEN

```
1980 – AAU 10K Masters X-Country (1 – Team Winner)
1980 – AAU 10K Masters X-C (1 – Judy Fox, 4 – Joan Ullyot)
1981 – AAU 10K Masters (1 – Judy Fox (35:33.6 – AR, WR))
1984 – Boston Marathon (1 – Joan Ullyot)
1984 – Avon Paris Women's Masters Marathon (1 – Team)
1988 – Boston Marathon (3 – Joan Ullyot)
1992 – Boston Marathon (1 – Team)
1996 – USATF 10K Masters X-C (3 – Team)
(3 – Honor Fetherston/40+; 1 – Joan Ottaway/50+)
1998 – USATF 10K Masters X-C (1 – Kim Rupert)
2001 – USATF Winter Masters X-C (2 – Team)
2002 – USATF 10K Masters X-C (5 – Team)
```

NATIONAL USATF MASTERS HALL OF FAME

1996 – Payton Jordan and Irene Obera (1st year of Hall of Fame)

NATIONAL RRCA HALL OF FAME

2019 - Joan Ullyot and Nancy Ditz-Mosbacher

WVTC OLYMPIC TEAM MEMBERS

(Not necessarily a WVTC'er at time they made the team(s))

*At least one West Valley member was on an Olympic team for every year from 1956 through 1988.

Phil Conley (1956) – Javelin Throw

Dave Davis (1960) - Shot Put

Alvaro Mejia (Colombia) (1964, 68, 72) 5K, 10K, Marathon

Hernan Barreneche (Colombia) (1968, 72) Marathon

Tom Dooley (1968, 72) 20K Race Walk

Esteban Valle (Nicaragua) (1968, 72) 20K Race Walk

Tom Laris (1968) 10K

Ken Swenson (1972) 800m

Domingo Tibaduiza (Colombia) (1972, 76, 80, 84) 5K, 10K, Marathon

Victor Mora (Colombia) (1972, 76) 10K, Marathon

Duncan Macdonald (1976) 5K

Don Kardong (1976) Marathon (4th Place)

Tony Sandoval (1980) Marathon

Ben Plucknett (1980) Discus

Dedy Cooper (1980) 110m High Hurdles

Humberto Hernandez (Puerto Rico) (1980) Marathon

Mark Conover (1988) Marathon

Gregg Tafralis (1988) Shot Put (9th Place)

Gary Fanelli (American Samoa) (1988) Marathon

Nancy Ditz-Mosbacher (1988) Marathon